VR Vision Group
Industrial VR Training
Buyer's Guide
2026 Edition
What it costs. How long it takes. Why programs stall. Eight vendors, grouped by the job you're hiring them for.
Published by VR Vision Group, a vendor in this market. Real 2026 list pricing, plus deployment data from 50+ industrial projects.
Key facts
- $1K–$15K Per module, per year to license an existing module, against $65,000 to $120,000 to build a custom 3D one
- 1–2 months From contract to a working pilot in the field on licensed modules
- 10–15% Of build cost per year for maintenance, against a published industry estimate of 15 to 25%
- 4 of 50+ Deployments since 2020 that stopped being used, none of them for technical reasons
All amounts in Canadian dollars. Pricing from VR Vision Group's 2026 list pricing and project plans; deployment figures from its records, 2020 to 2026.
Why this guide exists
Industrial VR training has moved well past the pilot stage at utilities and manufacturers. Buyers, though, still make six-figure decisions with almost no hard data to work from.
Vendors publish success stories. Almost nobody publishes what a program costs, how long it takes to deploy, how many learners finish, or why some deployments quietly stop being used.
This guide publishes all four. It's written for training, operations, and safety leaders at utilities, energy companies, and industrial manufacturers, whether you're evaluating VR for the first time or trying to turn a pilot into a program. If you’re new to the category, our ultimate guide to VR training covers the fundamentals this guide assumes.
Five things worth knowing first
The numbers that change how you scope a VR training program, before you talk to a single vendor.
-
$1K–$15K
Licensing beats building when the procedure is standard
Per module, per year to license an existing module, against $65,000 to $120,000 to build a custom 3D one. Interactive 360 video runs $30,000 to $60,000. See the full pricing ›
-
1–2 months
Expect months, not weeks
From contract to a working pilot in the field on licensed modules. A custom build reaches a working pilot in 3 to 4 months and production release at about five and a half. See the build phases ›
-
10–15%
Upkeep costs less than most buyers expect
Of a module's build cost, per year, for optional maintenance. One published industry estimate puts it at 15 to 25%.
-
About 1/5
Hardware is the smaller line item
Of year-one cost in a starter program of six licensed modules and 20 headsets. An enterprise headset with device management runs about $1,000.
-
4 of 50+
Programs stall for organizational reasons, not technical ones
Deployments since 2020 that stopped being used. None failed because the technology broke. In every case the training was never made mandatory. A lost champion, an internal restructuring, a content roadmap that ran out, or a pilot that never became standard training was what exposed it. See why programs stall ›
All amounts in Canadian dollars. Findings 1 to 4 come from VR Vision Group's 2026 list pricing and project plans; finding 5 from its deployment records, 2020 to 2026.
What it costs, and how long it takes
Almost no vendor publishes pricing. These are VR Vision Group's 2026 list prices, so you have a real number to compare every other quote against. For a plain-English walkthrough of what drives these numbers, see our guide to VR training costs.
Four ways to get a module
The four routes differ in cost by roughly 100x. Most buyers assume a custom build is the only option. It's the top rung, not the only one.
Program cost
| Line item | What it covers | Cost (CAD) |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-built module license | An existing, ready-to-deploy module, with guided and evaluation modes and content updates during the term | $1,000 to $15,000 per module per year |
| Training platform | Remote assistance, analytics, trainer dashboard, course management. Covers 10 trainer accounts and up to 100 headsets. | $25,000 per year |
| Starter program (example) | Six licensed modules, the platform, setup, branding, and train-the-trainer | About $75,000 in year one, then about $60,000 per year |
| Adapting a pre-built module | Changes to match a client's specific equipment or procedure | $10,000 to $20,000 per module |
| Custom 3D (CGI) module | One procedure built to the client's equipment and procedure: design, 3D assets, interactions, guided and evaluation modes, QA, deployment | $65,000 to $120,000 per module |
| Custom interactive 360 video module | Filmed on site, with decision points and assessment built in. Learners look and choose, but don't handle equipment. | $30,000 to $60,000 per module, about half a 3D build |
| New equipment digital twin | Modeling a piece of equipment and its environment from scratch, when no suitable model exists | About $50,000, one time |
| On-site capture | Site visit to capture equipment, environment, and workflow | $10,000 per visit, or about $20,000 for one visit covering several modules |
| Maintenance and support (optional) | Unlimited bug fixes, 1 major and 3 minor changes per module per year, OS and firmware updates, critical security patches within 24 hours | $10,000 to $15,000 per module per year (about 10 to 15% of build cost) |
| Integrations (one time) | LMS integration; single sign-on through Microsoft Azure | $8,500 for LMS; $25,000 for Azure |
| Multi-user add-on | Crews training together in the same scenario | +25% of the annual module license |
VR Vision Group 2026 list pricing. Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
What moves the price
- Format. Interactive 360 video runs $30,000 to $60,000 per module, about half a full 3D (CGI) build. The trade-off: learners can look around a real site and make decisions, but can't pick up tools or operate equipment.
- Whether a CAD/BIM or digital twin already exists. This is the biggest single swing. Providing existing 3D models can reduce 3D asset creation costs by up to 50%.
- Fidelity. Matching the client's exact equipment costs more, especially when CAD files don't exist and assets have to be modeled from photos and site visits.
- Branching and faults. Every fault, error path, or randomized defect in evaluation mode adds build and test time.
- SME availability. When subject matter expert reviews slip, schedules and costs slip with them.
- Languages and accessibility. Each added language means new audio, text, and testing.
- Multi-user scenarios. Crews training together add networking and testing work.
- Reuse. Once a digital twin exists, each additional procedure on the same equipment costs far less than the first.
How these numbers compare with published estimates
Few vendors publish cost data. One 2026 buyer's guide from a custom VR developer estimates USD $40,000 to $120,000 for a single-scenario pilot delivered in 8 to 14 weeks, and USD $120,000 to $400,000 for a full program of 4 to 6 scenarios. It puts ongoing updates at 15 to 25% of the original build cost per year.
VR Vision's custom module pricing sits in a similar range, but its standard build plan is longer (about 5.5 months) because it includes on-site capture and two full review cycles. Its maintenance pricing, at about 10 to 15% of build cost per year, sits below that estimate. The biggest differences are the cheaper formats: interactive 360 video runs $30,000 to $60,000, about half a 3D build, and licensing an existing module costs a small fraction of either.
Hardware, timelines, and usage
Hardware and platform
| Line item | Cost or ratio | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Enterprise headset package | About $1,000 per headset | Standalone headset, carry case, shipping, firmware update, and device management enrolment |
| Platform cost per headset | About $250 per headset per year | The $25,000 platform license spread across its 100-headset limit |
| Device management | Included in the headset package | Delivered through ArborXR. Meta closed its Quest for Business program and stopped accepting new Horizon Managed Services subscriptions on 20 February 2026, so new fleets are managed through third-party device management |
| Headsets per learner | About 1 headset per 30 learners | From a single large deployment (300+ headsets serving 10,000+ technicians), so treat it as a planning rule of thumb, not an average |
Supported headsets in current deployments are Meta Quest 3, Meta Quest 3S, and Pico 4 Ultra, all standalone. No gaming PC required.
How long a build takes
A custom build runs in four overlapping phases, each including a two-to-three-week client review and quality check before the next begins. Learners are usually in a working pilot well before final release.
| Phase | Planned duration | What happens |
|---|---|---|
| Client provisions | About 1.5 months | Site capture, procedure documents, equipment data, environment set up |
| Alpha release | About 2 months | Core environment and interactions built; first client review |
| Beta release | About 1.5 months | Full procedure, evaluation mode, revisions from SME review |
| Final release | 2 to 3 days | Production release to headsets |
| Total, kickoff to production release | About 5.5 months | Phase durations are planned working time; the total also covers the review and scheduling windows between phases. A working pilot is in the field before this, at 3 to 4 months |
| Signed contract to a working pilot in use in the field | 1 to 2 months pre-built; 3 to 4 months custom | Licensed modules reach learners first. A custom build reaches a pilot during beta, ahead of production release. |
| Post-release support | 3 months | Unlimited bug and issue fixes at no charge |
What good usage looks like
Cost and timeline are easy to compare across vendors. Usage is harder, because almost nobody publishes it and definitions vary. The benchmarks below are the targets VR Vision works to on industrial deployments, and a reasonable bar to hold any vendor to. They are targets, not measured averages across the industry.
| Measure | What good looks like | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Completion rate on assigned modules | 85% or better | Below this, the training is effectively optional, which is the single biggest predictor of a program stalling |
| Repeat sessions per learner | 3 or more | Learners returning past the first guided pass is the clearest sign the training is being used for practice rather than compliance |
| Mix of modes used | Both guided and unguided | A program running only in guided mode isn't assessing competency, just exposure |
| Time from assignment to first session | Within 2 weeks | Long gaps usually mean headsets aren't accessible at the point of work |
| Share of learners reached | The full assigned cohort | Partial rollouts make results impossible to read and expansion hard to justify |
Completion rate means learners who finished an assigned module, divided by learners assigned it. A session is one launch of a module lasting more than 2 minutes. Ask any vendor how they define both, since a generous definition makes weak numbers look strong.
VR Vision reports these measures through Vision Portal on every deployment. Aggregate results across its own client base will be published in the 2027 edition of this guide, once the sample is large enough to report by sector.
Why programs stall
Most VR training content shows what went right. This section covers what went wrong, because one failure pattern is worth more to a buyer than another success story.
Of VR Vision's 50+ deployments since 2020, 4 stopped being used. Fewer than 1 in 10. Not one of them failed because the technology broke, the content was wrong, or learners rejected it. They failed for organizational reasons. In every case the training stayed optional, which is what made it fragile. What differed was the trigger that exposed it: a champion who moved on, a champion displaced by an internal restructuring, a content roadmap that ran out, or a pilot that was never folded into standard training.
The patterns: what actually ended these programs
What happened. Four programs stalled in different ways, but each shared the same underlying weakness. One rolled out before its module library was large enough to sustain a full training cycle, and no plan existed to add more once the initial set was used up. A second was never written into onboarding or ongoing training as a requirement, and lost its only champion to a different role before that changed. A third was piloted but never folded into standard training, so it ran at the margins and lost attention once other priorities took over. A fourth kept running well until an internal restructuring moved its champion out partway through, and the successor had to reconstruct what was in progress before continuing.
How often we saw it. 4 of 4 stalled deployments shared the same root cause: nothing in the organization's policy or process required the training to continue. What varied was the trigger. Two lost their internal champion, one to a role change and one to an internal restructuring. One ran out of content, because no roadmap existed beyond the initial set of modules. One stayed a pilot that was never folded into standard training.
Why it matters. Most buyers worry about content quality, headset comfort, or whether workers will accept VR. In this sample, none of those ended a program. What ended it was a governance gap: training that depended on one person's ongoing push, rather than being written into policy as mandatory.
How to prevent it
- Make it mandatory, not optional. Write VR training into the curriculum or onboarding requirements so it survives a change in who's running it.
- Bring IT in on day one. Loop in secops, networking, and the help desk before you pick a platform, not after. They control the doors you'll need opened.
- Name two owners, not one. Pair the champion with an executive sponsor who controls the training budget. One person leaving shouldn't end the program.
- Scope the rollout with a roadmap. Launch with enough content to complete a first cycle, and know what module comes next before the first ones are used up.
- Put it in the system of record. When completions flow into the LMS and training plans, the program becomes part of how the organization runs, not one person's project.
- Write a handover plan into the contract. Agree what happens if the client-side owner changes: who the vendor contacts, and how the new owner gets up to speed.
One question worth asking every vendor you shortlist: how many of your deployments have stopped being used, and why? A vendor that can answer honestly has probably learned how to prevent it.
How vendors are assessed
This guide doesn't score vendors out of 100. Buyers need different things, and a single score hides that. Ten criteria, three ratings, and the evidence behind each one. Use the same rubric on any vendor you shortlist, including us.
The rating scale
Strong
Documented, with public customer evidence in industrial settings
Standard
Offered and documented, with limited public evidence
Limited
Partly offered, or only available through partners
Where a vendor hasn't published information on a criterion, it's marked not publicly stated and left unrated, not rated down. That isn't a judgment on the vendor. It's a question to ask in your RFP.
The ten criteria
| Criterion | What it means, and what Strong looks like |
|---|---|
| Content fidelity | Procedural accuracy and SME validation. Strong: modules match the client's actual equipment and procedures, with named SME sign-off. |
| Time to deploy | Contract to first learner. Strong: documented timelines for comparable projects. |
| Content model | Pre-built library, custom builds, authoring tool, or a mix. Strong: clear options with the trade-offs explained. |
| Device management | Fleet deployment, kiosk mode, remote updates. Strong: remote management of large fleets across sites, including offline use. |
| LMS integration | SCORM or xAPI support. Strong: documented integrations with major LMS platforms and learner-level data. |
| Analytics | Learner-level performance data. Strong: step-level data, exportable, tied to competency. |
| Sector experience | References in utilities, energy, manufacturing, and other industrial settings. Strong: several named or referenceable industrial customers. |
| Pricing model | Fixed, per seat, per module, or subscription. Strong: pricing explained up front, including update costs. |
| IT and security | SSO, data residency, certifications, offline mode. Strong: independent certification (SOC 2 or ISO 27001), SSO, and data residency options. |
| Support | Onboarding, service levels, local presence. Strong: named onboarding support, a service level agreement, and presence in the buyer's region. |
Every vendor in this guide, including VR Vision Group, is assessed against these same ten criteria. Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
Best fit by use case
There's no single best VR training vendor. There's a best fit for what you're trying to do. Find the situation closest to yours, shortlist the vendors beside it, and open with the question in each card.
Situation 1
Start fast on standard procedures
Four or five common procedures, a small L&D team, and results needed within a quarter.
What matters most: library size and relevance, time to deploy, pricing
Vendors that fit: PIXO VR, VR Vision, Pixaera
Ask: “How many of our procedures do you already cover, and what does it cost to adapt one?”
Situation 2
Train on complex, site-specific equipment
Safety-critical tasks where “close enough” isn't good enough.
What matters most: content fidelity, sector experience, SME review process
Vendors that fit: VR Vision, ForgeFX, Virtualware, PIXO VR
Ask: “Who signs off on accuracy, and what happens when our procedure changes?”
Situation 3
Run 100+ headsets across sites
Standardized training at volume, across multiple locations.
What matters most: device management, analytics, IT and security
Vendors that fit: Strivr, PIXO VR, VR Vision
Ask: “What's the largest deployment you run today, and how do updates reach remote sites?”
Situation 4
Build and update content yourself
An in-house team that wants to author and maintain its own modules.
What matters most: content model, authoring tools, pricing
Vendors that fit: Motive.io, SynergyXR
Ask: “How long does a new author need to build a first module, and what still needs a developer?”
Situation 5
Cover hazard awareness on a budget
360 video, where seeing the real site matters more than handling equipment.
What matters most: pricing, time to deploy, ease of filming
Vendors that fit: VR Vision, Pixaera, SynergyXR
Ask: “Who films the content, and can it run offline?”
Situation 6
Train crews together
Crew coordination, emergency response, control room and field teams.
What matters most: multi-user support, fidelity, space and hardware needs
Vendors that fit: Virtualware, ForgeFX, SynergyXR, VR Vision
Ask: “How many users per session, and do they need to be in the same room?”
Placements are based on public information and vendor materials as of September 2026.
The eight vendors
Eight vendors are profiled here: enough to cover every use case above without turning this into a directory. Others reviewed and left out are named at the end of this section, with the reason.
Everything below was compiled from public sources in September 2026. Vendor-stated claims are marked as such and haven't been independently verified. Not publicly stated means the vendor hasn't published that information. It isn't a judgment. It's a question to ask in your RFP.
At a glance
| Vendor | Base | Content model | LMS | Security | Named industrial customers | Fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ForgeFX | San Francisco | Custom builds | Not stated | Not stated | Caterpillar, WMATA, JLG, P&H Mining | 2, 6 |
| Motive.io | Vancouver | Self-authoring + SDKs | SCORM, xAPI, LRS | SOC 2 Type II | Accenture | 4 |
| Pixaera | London | Ready-built + bespoke | Integrated at bp | Not stated | Shell, bp, PCL Construction | 1, 5 |
| PIXO VR | Royal Oak, MI | Library + custom | SCORM, xAPI, API | Not stated | Saudi Aramco, J. J. Keller | 1, 2, 3 |
| Strivr | Menlo Park | Off-the-shelf + custom | Syncs to client LMS | Not stated | Walmart, Bank of America, United Rentals | 3 |
| SynergyXR | Aarhus | No-code authoring | Not stated | Not stated | Saint-Gobain Isover, MAKEEN Energy | 4, 5, 6 |
| Virtualware | Bilbao + Hamilton, ON | Platform + low-code | Not stated | ISO 27001 | GE Vernova Hitachi, ADIF, McMaster | 2, 6 |
| VR Vision | Toronto | Library + custom | SCORM 1.2/2004, xAPI, any LMS | AWS-hosted; ISO 27001 practices, not certified | Toyota, Siemens, Enel, Avangrid, Hydro One, Toronto Hydro, Alectra | 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 |
Each profile names where the vendor is strong against the ten criteria and what to probe in an RFP. “Fits” refers to the six situations in the section above. Scroll the table sideways on a narrow screen.
ForgeFX Simulations
Custom simulation builds since 2001, with unusual depth in heavy equipment. Its ForgeSIM technology imports CAD models and wires real equipment controls (joysticks, levers, switches) into simulations over CAN-BUS, which matters when muscle memory on the actual control layout is the point. Public work spans construction, mining, transit, and aviation ground support, including a networked multiplayer aircraft deicing simulator.
Strong on: content fidelity, sector experience. Watch: custom builds only, with no published platform for managing content after delivery, and no public energy or utility references.
Motive.io
A Vancouver authoring platform (Motive XMS) built for teams that want to make and update their own content. Storyflow is a no-code editor for learning designers, and Unity and Unreal SDKs let developers build environments that learning teams then author inside. It's the best-documented option here on standards: xAPI and SCORM with a built-in learning record store, and SOC 2 Type II.
Strong on: content model, LMS integration, IT and security. Watch: thin public industrial customer evidence. Ask how much still needs a Unity developer.
Pixaera
Game-based safety training for high-risk industries, running on VR headsets, PC, browser, and mobile. Its library maps to the IOGP Life-Saving Rules: energy isolation, hot work, line of fire, work at height, confined space, mechanical lifting. Content was co-designed with operational leaders from Shell, bp, Ferrovial, and Chevron (vendor-stated), and Shell has rolled it out globally.
Strong on: content model, sector experience. Watch: modules follow general life-saving rules rather than your specific procedures. Ask what a bespoke module costs.
PIXO VR
The broadest off-the-shelf library aimed squarely at utility and industrial buyers: substation electrical safety, natural gas leak response, confined space, fall protection, lockout/tagout, hazard recognition. The platform covers single login across VR, tablet, mobile, and desktop, live instructor oversight, and analytics across locations. The vendor puts implementation at about a week for a small deployment and a month for a large one.
Strong on: content model, LMS integration, sector experience. Watch: some library titles come from partners rather than PIXO. Ask which are which, and what adapting one costs.
Strivr
The name most buyers already know, and the one with the largest documented deployment: VR training rolled out to more than 1 million associates across 4,600+ US Walmart stores. Built for scale, with centralized device and content management, an in-headset learner portal, and VR courses that sync into an existing LMS catalogue with completion, score, and location data. As of 2026 the company has repositioned around smart glasses. Its platform page now leads with AI-powered error detection delivered through glasses during live work, and the VR training business sits behind that rather than in front of it.
Strong on: device management. Watch: public evidence is concentrated in retail and logistics, with no published energy or utility references and no published security certifications. The open question for a VR buyer is roadmap. Ask where VR training sits in the company's plans now that glasses lead the pitch, and what the support commitment on the VR platform is.
SynergyXR
A no-code XR platform from Denmark aimed at industrial and manufacturing teams that want to build their own procedures. A no-code Procedure Builder handles authoring, Unity environments can be imported, and a professional services team designs procedures for clients that would rather not. Runs on Meta, Pico, and HTC headsets, Apple Vision Pro, iOS, Mac, and Windows, with live multi-user collaboration.
Strong on: content model. Watch: no published LMS standards or security certifications, and limited public evidence in North American utilities.
Virtualware (VIROO)
The multi-user specialist, and the one most likely to be in the room at a Canadian utility conversation: headquartered in Bilbao with an office in Hamilton, Ontario. VIROO Rooms turn a physical space into a shared, full-scale virtual environment, with 50+ installations reported. Public work includes nuclear plant scenarios with GE Vernova Hitachi and rail with ADIF. ISO 27001 certified.
Strong on: sector experience, IT and security. Watch: VIROO Rooms need dedicated physical space. Ask whether content is built by you, by them, or by a partner.
VR Vision Group
The publisher of this guide, held to the same template and evidence standard as every other profile. Toronto-based, 10+ years, with roughly 80% of its work in energy and utilities. Offers pre-built utility and wind modules licensed annually, adaptation of existing modules, and custom builds in both 3D and interactive 360 video. Every module has a guided education mode and an unguided evaluation mode. Vision Portal handles live remote assistance through first-person headset feeds, analytics, course management, and post-session surveys, with device management through ArborXR. Runs on standalone Meta Quest 3, Quest 3S, and Pico 4 Ultra, offline capable.
Documented outcomes (vendor-stated): Toyota Material Handling, 10,000+ technicians on 300+ headsets across North American dealerships and $1.5M in annual savings. Avangrid Renewables, 65% faster onboarding across 20+ modules with results syncing to the LMS. Enel, $5M in annual training savings.
“VR Vision has been a transformational partner in our workforce strategy.”
Strong on: content model, content fidelity, device management, sector experience, pricing model, LMS integration, support. Watch: security is rated Standard, not Strong. Vision Portal is hosted on AWS, whose infrastructure is ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certified, but VR Vision follows ISO 27001 practices without being independently certified itself.
Also considered
Reviewed and left out, with the reason. A vendor's absence isn't a judgment on its product, and any vendor who wants to be profiled in the next edition can get in touch.
| Vendor | Why it isn't profiled here |
|---|---|
| Interplay Learning (with ITI) | Strong skilled-trades library, but aimed at trades and workforce programs rather than industrial procedure training |
| EON Reality | Public customer evidence is mainly education, not industry |
| Roundtable Learning | Custom-build training agency rather than a licensable platform; programs are bespoke, so there is nothing to compare on the same terms as the eight profiled |
| Luminous XR | Industrial content library, but little public documentation to assess |
| Warp VR | Well documented 360 video platform with published pricing; EU-hosted and focused on decision training rather than procedures |
| Uptale | 360 authoring platform; overlaps with content already distributed through other vendors in this guide |
| VRdirect | No-code 360 and 3D authoring; limited public evidence in industrial procedure training |
Before you talk to vendors
Most of what decides whether a VR program works gets decided before a vendor is involved. Settle these ten things first and the vendor conversation gets much shorter. Once a vendor is chosen, our VR training implementation playbook covers the rollout itself.
- Pick one procedure to start with, and write down why it suits VR: high risk, hard to access, or expensive to practice for real.
- Establish the modality early, 360 or CGI, because different vendors have different strengths.
- Choose the metric you'll judge the pilot on, and capture a baseline before you start.
- Name the person on site who will own the headsets after launch.
- Name an executive sponsor who owns the VR training budget, not just a champion who likes the idea.
- Confirm the procedure is final, or know when the next revision is due.
- Ask IT what they need to approve headsets, accounts, and data handling.
- Decide whether completions must reach your LMS.
- Set a budget range for the pilot, and for year one if the pilot works.
- Identify the subject matter expert who will review the content, and book their time.
One page, letter size, built to print and tick off. No email required.
Methodology and disclosure
Where the numbers come from
- Pricing and timelines: VR Vision's 2026 price list and standard project plans, taken from proposals issued in 2026. Figures are list prices, not final contract values.
- Deployment data: project records from the 50+ deployments VR Vision delivered between 2020 and 2026, used for the stall analysis. VR Vision has delivered more than 100 enterprise deployments over the life of the company; this guide uses only the post-2020 set, where records are complete and consistent. A deployment counts as stalled if it stopped being used or was not renewed.
- Reporting rules: no figure is published from fewer than 3 deployments, and buckets with fewer than 10 are shown as ranges. One exception is labelled where it appears: the headsets-per-learner ratio in the hardware table comes from a single large deployment, and is offered as a planning rule of thumb rather than a finding. This is why the usage section publishes benchmarks rather than measured completion rates by sector: the post-2020 sample doesn't yet support a reliable split. Dollar amounts are in CAD.
- Anonymization: client names are removed from the deployment dataset behind the pricing, timeline and stall analysis, regions are generalized to country level, and no figure drawn from that dataset is tied to a named client. The named client results in VR Vision's own vendor profile sit outside that dataset: they come from published, client-approved case studies and are marked vendor-stated, exactly as other vendors' customer results are. Existing clients were told about the guide before publication.
Vendor selection
The guide profiles eight vendors in depth. To be profiled, a vendor had to be actively selling VR training to industrial buyers, available to North American organizations as of September 2026, and documented well enough in public sources to assess against the ten criteria. It excludes platforms built mainly for schools and workforce boards, general-purpose VR collaboration tools, and consumer products. Vendors reviewed and left out are named above with the reason, so readers can judge the selection for themselves.
Vendor profiles and ratings
Profiles were compiled from public sources using one standard template, applied identically to every vendor including VR Vision Group. Customer results reported by vendors are marked “vendor-stated” and have not been independently verified. Each vendor is rated Strong, Standard, or Limited on the ten criteria, based on documentation, public case studies, and vendor-supplied evidence. Criteria with no public information are marked not publicly stated and left unrated. There is no overall score or ranking.
Conflict of interest
VR Vision Group is a vendor in this market and appears in this guide. The safeguards are listed at the top of this guide. Readers should weigh VR Vision's own profile and placements with that in mind, as they would with any vendor-published research.
Sources
Vendor information was compiled from the following public sources, accessed September 2026. Sources for vendors listed under “Also considered” are held on file and available on request.
- ForgeFX Simulationsforgefx.com (about, clients, simulation technology) and its LinkedIn page
- Motive.iomotive.io and GlobeNewswire releases, 2021 to 2023
- Pixaerapixaera.com, the bp customer story on blog.pixaera.com, and its LinkedIn page
- PIXO VRpixovr.com (platform, FAQ and support) and PR Newswire, March 2025
- Strivrstrivr.com (platform and use cases), Crunchbase, MIT Technology Review and UC Today
- SynergyXRsynergyxr.com, Photon Engine blog (January 2026), Silicon Canals (May 2024) and InnovateEnergy (August 2023)
- Virtualwarevirtualwareco.com, viroo.virtualwareco.com and the VIROO listing on siemens.com
- Published cost estimatevirtualverse.studio, April 2026
- Enterprise VR platform closuresMeta Quest Help and Road to VR on Horizon Workrooms, January to February 2026; Engadget and ryanschultz.com on MeetinVR, February 2026
- Meta Quest for Business and Horizon Managed Servicesthe Meta for Work blog and UploadVR, February 2026.